West Deerfield Township Annual Town Meeting Minutes April 16, 2013

The Annual Town Meeting of West Deerfield Township was called to order by the Township Clerk Kristen Scott at 7:00 p.m. at the West Deerfield Township Center, 601 Deerfield Rd, Deerfield, Illinois on April 16, 2013.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by the Holy Cross School Brownie Troop.

Present were Trustees Marc Brown, Ron Levitsky, Betty O'Shaughnessy, Ron Schwartz, Supervisor Alyson Miller Feiger, Clerk Scott, and Assessor Tom Healy.

Present from the public were Lily Feiger, Eileen Horg, Kate McGrath, Sonya Lincoln Nol, Joan Shamp Reel, Bob Rosenbacher, Sue Rosenbacher, Cary Schmidt, Louis Stone, Jack Strom, Laura Trevino, Nancy Urice, and Jan Zobus.

Election of Moderator

The Clerk asked for nominations from the audience for a Moderator. Nancy Urice was nominated by Trustee Schwartz. Trustee Levitsky seconded the motion. The Clerk asked twice more for further nominations. There were none. A motion to close the nominations was made by Trustee O'Shaughnessy and seconded by Trustee Schwartz. A voice vote was taken. The ayes being in favor the motion carried, making Mrs. Urice the Moderator for the 2013 Annual Meeting.

Oath of Office by Moderator

Mrs. Urice took the Oath of Office, administered by Town Clerk Kristen Scott.

Remarks by the Moderator on Conducting the Meeting

Mrs. Urice welcomed those present and made the following comments on conducting the meeting:

- Only residents of West Deerfield Township may speak or vote on issues
- Comments and discussions will be limited to the business at hand
- If you wish to speak, you will be recognized, stand and give your name and address
- Finally, votes and resolutions will be made by a voice vote or a show of hands or cards
- Roberts Rules of Business will be followed

Mrs. Urice appointed Trustee O'Shaughnessy as the Parliamentarian.

Minutes from the 2012 Annual Town Meeting

A motion was made by Trustee Schwartz to accept and dispense with the reading of the 2012 Town Meeting minutes by Trustee Schwartz. The motion was seconded by Trustee Brown. A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Copies of the minutes were available prior to the Annual Meeting.

Recognition

Supervisor Feiger called West Deerfield Township Food Pantry Board members Joan Reed, Bob Rosenbacher and Jan Zobus forward to thank them for their service to the Township and the residents who utilize the Pantry. In particular she thanked Bob Rosenbacher for assuming the duties of Board President following Julie Morrison's departure. Joan Reed and Jan Zobus both expressed their thanks to the Township for its support of the Pantry's work. For their work on behalf of the Pantry, Bob Rosenbacher thanked Joan Reed and Jan Zobus; former Towship Supervisor Julie Morrison; Supervisor Alyson Miller Feiger; Peggy Amado and Nancy Urice; 3 Guys and a Truck; Tuck and Lynda Woodson; Naomi Ewing; Scouting Troops; and schools, churches and synagogues. He further thanked local corporations which have supported the Pantry: Takeda, Baxter, Whole Foods, Walgreens, United Stationers, Deerfield Bank and Trust, Starbucks, Panera, Chipotle and Sunset Foods. Finally, Mr. Rosenbacher thanked the residents of the Township who continue to donate the food distributed by the Pantry each month. Supervisor Feiger gave Mr. Rosenbacher, Mrs. Reed and Mrs. Zobus Certificates of Appreciation from the Township.

Supervisor Feiger then thanked outgoing Trustee Betty O'Shaughnessy for her four years of service to Township residents, presenting her with a certificate of appreciation.

Supervisor's Report

Supervisor Feiger presented highlights from her annual report, written copies of which were available at the meeting. Having served as Supervisor for just over three months, she has already learned a great deal about the variety of successful Township programs, which are aided by many volunteers. These include the *Going Places* transportation program, Senior Call Program, Community Emergency Fund, General Assistance Fund, Food Pantry support, Accessibility Grant program, U.S. Passport application services, voter services, and others as outlined in her report. She noted that an important tenet of the Township is to not duplicate services and programs already provided by other government or service agencies. Our proximity to residents makes the Township Board and staff both accessible and accountable to the people it serves.

Assessor's Report

Assessor Tom Healy presented his report on the property assessment process during the previous year, written copies of which were available at the meeting. He noted that the Chief County Assessment Officer placed a multiplier of .953 on all property in West Deerfield Township, resulting in a 4.7% decrease in all assessments in our township. He also explained that his office saw a slight decrease in the number of property tax appeals to 1,752 in 2012. Mr. Healy stated that his staff continues to work to ensure that every taxpayer who qualifies for an exemption receives that exemption. They also provide outreach sessions for seniors in Deerfield, Highland Park and Lake Forest.

Review of 2013-14 Town Budget and Appropriation Ordinance

A motion to dispense with the formal reading of the Budget and Appropriation Ordinance was made by Trustee Brown and seconded by Bob Rosenbacher. All were in favor and the motion carried. Written copies of the Budget and Appropriation Ordnance and Financial Statements were available at the meeting.

Reading and Action of Resolutions No. 2013-1

Moderator Urice read Resolution No. 2013-1 setting the time and place of the next Annual Town Meeting as the second Tuesday in April, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. at West Deerfield Township Center. Trustee Schwartz moved to accept the Resolution and was seconded by Jack Strom. All were in favor and the Resolution was adopted.

Comments from Electors

Jan Zobus of 1001 Rosemary Terrace, Deerfield, thanked the Board of Trustees for their important work on behalf of Township residents. Clerk Scott thanked Nancy Urice for serving as Moderator for the Town Meeting.

Adjournment

There being no further business to conduct, a motion to adjourn was made by Trustee Levitsky and seconded by Bob Rosenbacher. All were in favor and the motion carried.

The 2013 Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 7:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Scott Town Clerk