West Deerfield Township Annual Town Meeting Minutes April 12, 2016

The Annual Town Meeting of West Deerfield Township was called to order by the Township Clerk, Kristen Scott, at 7:00 p.m. at the West Deerfield Township Center, 601 Deerfield Rd, Deerfield, Illinois on April 12, 2016. Clerk Scott welcomed residents and thanked them for their interest in Township government, especially following the building flood in January of this year.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by Clerk Scott.

Present were Marc Brown, Ron Levitsky, Ron Schwartz, Jack Strom, Alyson Feiger, Tom Healy, Robert Feiger, Janice Winter, Adam Rappaport, Barbara Reich, Kim Julison, Rick Julison, Susie Julison, Ryan Cunningham, Chris Cunningham, Clair Cunningham, Thom Cunningham, Bob Rosenbacher and Susan Rosenbacher.

Election of Moderator

The Clerk asked the audience for nominations for a Moderator to conduct the meeting. Susie Julison was nominated by Ron Levitsky. Marc Brown seconded the nomination. The Clerk asked twice more for nominations. There were none. A motion to close the nominations was made by Ron Schwartz and seconded by Jack Strom. A voice vote was taken. All assembled were in favor. Thus, the motion carried, making Susie Julison the Moderator for the 2016 Annual Town Meeting.

Oath of Office by Moderator

Mrs. Julison took the Oath of Office, administered by Clerk Scott.

Remarks by the Moderator on Conducting the Meeting

Mrs. Julison welcomed those present and made the following comments on conducting the meeting:

- Only residents of West Deerfield Township may speak or vote on issues
- Comments and discussions will be limited to the business at hand
- If you wish to speak, you will be recognized, stand and give your name and address
- Votes and resolutions will be made by a voice vote or a show of hands or cards
- Roberts Rules of Order will be followed

Mrs. Julison appointed Marc Brown as the Parliamentarian for the meeting.

Minutes from the 2015 Annual Town Meeting

A motion was made by Ron Levitsky to accept the 2015 Town Meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Jack Strom. A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Copies of the minutes were available prior to and during the Annual Meeting.

Recognition

Township Supervisor Alyson Feiger recognized several individuals for their extraordinary assistance following the Township Center flood and subsequent Food Pantry dislocation. Included for their distinctive and ongoing service to the Township were Janice Winter, Claire Cunningham, Adam Rappaport, Barbara Reich, Thom Cunningham, Bob Rosenbacher, and Susie Julison. Supervisor Feiger noted that the Township would not have been able to carry on its work and service to residents without the support and hard work of these and other volunteers throughout the community.

Supervisor's Report

Supervisor Feiger presented highlights from her annual report, noting several of the prominent Township activities of the previous year, and invited residents to take a written copy of her complete report, available at the meeting. At the conclusion of the Supervisor's report, Mrs. Julison commended Township staff and Board for their poise during a difficult period.

Assessor's Report

Assessor Tom Healy presented his report on the property assessment process during the previous year, written copies of which were available at the meeting. He noted that 2015 was a General Reassessment Period, one of the busiest times for Assessor's services. He encouraged residents to call or visit his office with any questions during the course of the year.

Reading and Action of Resolution No. 2016-1

Moderator Julison read Resolution 2016-1 setting the time and place of the next Annual Town Meeting as the second Tuesday of April, 2017, at 7 p.m. at West Deerfield Township Center. Marc Brown motioned to accept the Resolution and it was seconded by Adam Rappaport. A voice vote was taken. All were in favor and the Resolution was adopted.

Comments from Electors

Barbara Reich noted that the dedication of Township leadership during the building crisis encouraged others to help by their example. Susie Julison stated that her experience of the Township is always positive, with staff consistently welcoming and respectful to all the residents

they help. Thom Cunningham expressed his gratitude to the Township staff for managing the building crisis so efficiently, rallying the community while setting a strong example of service.

Adjournment

There being no further business to conduct, a motion to adjourn was made by Bob Rosenbacher and seconded by Jack Strom. All were in favor and the motion carried.

The 2016 Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 7:49 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Scott Town Clerk