West Deerfield Township Annual Town Meeting Minutes April 14, 2015

The Annual Town Meeting of West Deerfield Township was called to order by the Township Clerk Kristen Scott at 7:00 p.m. at the West Deerfield Township Center, 601 Deerfield Rd, Deerfield, Illinois on April 14, 2015. Clerk Scott welcomed residents and thanked them for their interest in Township government, and introducing Township attorney Keri-Lyn Krafthefer, who was attending the meeting.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by Clerk Scott.

Present were Marc Brown, Ron Levitsky, Ron Schwartz, Jack Strom, Alyson Feiger, Tom Healy, Keri-Lyn Krafthefer, Gail Wiltgen, Bill Svatik, Maria del Carmen Scott, Adam Lasker, Allen Lefkovitz, Robert Feiger, Jan Zobus, David Levitz, Janice Becker, Kathy Gaydar, Maureen Lee, Joan M. Gruchot, Dorothy Collins, Ed Collins, Robbie Boudreau, Salome Berhanu, Steve Fox, Patricia Falkowski, Hillary Till and Jack Koenig.

Election of Moderator

The Clerk asked the audience for nominations for a Moderator to conduct the meeting. Gail Wiltgen was nominated by Jack Strom. Ron Schwartz seconded the nomination. The Clerk asked twice more for nominations. There were none. A motion to close the nominations was made by Ron Levitsky and seconded by Jack Strom. A voice vote was taken. The ayes being in favor, the motion carried, making Gail Wiltgen the Moderator for the 2015 Annual Town Meeting.

Oath of Office by Moderator

Mrs. Wiltgen took the Oath of Office, administered by Clerk Scott.

Remarks by the Moderator on Conducting the Meeting

Mrs. Wiltgen welcomed those present and made the following comments on conducting the meeting:

- Only residents of West Deerfield Township may speak or vote on issues
- Comments and discussions will be limited to the business at hand
- If you wish to speak, you will be recognized, stand and give your name and address
- Votes and resolutions will be made by a voice vote or a show of hands or cards
- Roberts Rules of Business will be followed

Mrs. Wiltgen appointed Ron Levitsky as the Parliamentarian for the meeting.

Minutes from the 2014 Annual Town Meeting

A motion was made by Robert Feiger to accept the 2014 Town Meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Alyson Feiger. A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Copies of the minutes were available prior to and during the Annual Meeting.

Recognition

Township Supervisor Alyson Feiger recognized a group of exemplary volunteers who assist on a regular basis with the West Deerfield Township Food Pantry, including Salome Berhanu, Dorothy Collims, Kathy Gaydar and Joan M. Gruchot. Dorothy Collins indicated delight and satisfaction in volunteer work for the Food Pantry. Supervisor Feiger also thanked Robbie Boudreau, Executive Director of Southeast Lake County Faith in Action Volunteers, for her work with Township seniors and others who require in-home assistance, noting that the Township is pleased to partner with Faith in Action to help seniors "age in place" in their homes as long as possible. Each volunteer was presented with a certificate of recognition and thanks.

Supervisor's Report

Supervisor Feiger presented highlights from her annual report, and invited residents to take a written copy of her complete report, available at the meeting.

Assessor's Report

Assessor Tom Healy presented his report on the property assessment process during the previous year, written copies of which were available at the meeting. Overall, it was a "quiet year" in the Assessor's office, with assessment appeals down 64% from the previous year despite a 1% overall rise in property values.

Discussion and Potential Action on Lease Agreement with Chamber of Commerce

Moderator Wiltgen invited Township Attorney Keri-Lyn Krafthefer to review procedures necessary renew the lease currently in effect between Deerfield-Bannockburn-Riverwoods Chamber of Commerce and West Deerfield Township. She called for a motion to approve Resolution 2015-1, which states the Electors intent to lease space within the Township Center. Jan Zobus motioned to approve Resolution 2015-1. Bill Svatik

seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken. The ayes being in favor the motion was approved.

Ms. Kraftehefer explained that the Electors are required to ratify the lease between Union Drainage District Number 1 and West Deerfield Township, in effect until January 3, 2025. Ron Schwartz motioned to ratify this lease. Alyson Feiger seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken. The majority being in favor the motion was approved.

Copies of Resolution 2015-1; the lease agreement currently in effect between West Deerfield Township and DBR Chamber of Commerce; and the lease between West Deerfield Township and Union Drainage District Number 1, were available before and during the Town Meeting.

Reading and Action of Resolution No. 2016-1

Moderator Wiltgen read Resolution 2016-1 setting the time and place of the next Annual Town Meeting as the second Tuesday of April, 2017, at 7 p.m. at West Deerfield Township Center. Trustee Levitsky motioned to accept the Resolution and was seconded by Trustee Schwartz. A voice vote was taken. All were in favor and the Resolution was adopted.

Comments from Electors

Jan Zobus, of 1001 Rosemary Terrace, Deerfield, praised the Township for its work on behalf of its residents, including outstanding patience and "customer service" exhibited by the Assessor's staff; and superior services to citizens, using cooperative arrangements with other community service providers, and maximizing taxpayers funds.

Adjournment

There being no further business to conduct, a motion to adjourn was made by Jack Strom and seconded by Robbie Boudreau. All were in favor and the motion carried.

The 2015 Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Scott Town Clerk