West Deerfield Township Annual Town Meeting Minutes April 8, 2014

The Annual Town Meeting of West Deerfield Township was called to order by the Township Clerk Kristen Scott at 7:00 p.m. at the West Deerfield Township Center, 601 Deerfield Rd, Deerfield, Illinois on April 8, 2014.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was led by Clerk Scott.

Present were Marc Brown, Ron Levitsky, Ron Schwartz, Jack Strom, Alyson Feiger, Tom Healy, Bob Rosenbacher, Barb Carnew, Gail Wiltgen, Wenting Li, Tianyu Dan, Danlin Huang, Lanzheng Liu, Angela Wang, Yuesheng Wang, Rachel Zhang, Jiayi Zheng, Naomi Weing, and Marissa Innocenzi.

Election of Moderator

The Clerk asked the audience for nominations for a Moderator to conduct the meeting. Gail Wiltgen was nominated by Marc Brown. Ron Schwartz seconded the motion. The Clerk asked twice more for nominations. There were none. A motion to close the nominations was made by Ron Levitsky and seconded by Jack Strom. A voice vote was taken. The ayes being in favor, the motion carried, making Gail Wiltgen the Moderator for the 2014 Annual Town Meeting.

Oath of Office by Moderator

Mrs. Wiltgen took the Oath of Office, administered by Clerk Scott.

Remarks by the Moderator on Conducting the Meeting

Mrs. Wiltgen welcomed those present and made the following comments on conducting the meeting:

- Only residents of West Deerfield Township may speak or vote on issues
- Comments and discussions will be limited to the business at hand
- If you wish to speak, you will be recognized, stand and give your name and address
- Votes and resolutions will be made by a voice vote or a show of hands or cards
- Roberts Rules of Business will be followed

Mrs. Wiltgen appointed Ron Schwartz as the Parliamentarian for the meeting.

Minutes from the 2013 Annual Town Meeting

A motion was made by Bob Rosenbacher to accept and dispense with the reading of the 2013 Town Meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Marc Brown. A voice vote was taken and the motion carried. Copies of the minutes were available prior to and during the Annual Meeting.

Recognition

Township Supervisor Alyson Feiger recognized a group of students from China who attend high school at Woodlands Academy in Lake Forest, and who volunteer monthly in the Food Pantry. She thanked them for their consistent dedication to packing the food bags, which are distributed to Pantry clients, and presented each volunteer with a certificate of recognition and thanks. Volunteers present included Tianyu Dan, Danlin Huang, Wenting Li, Lanzheng Liu, Angela Wang, Yuesheng Wang, Rachel Zhang, and Jiayi Zheng. Not present was Vivian Han. Supervisor Feiger also thanked the students'

houseparent, Marissa Innocenzi; and volunteer coordinator Naomi Ewing, who has worked on behalf of the Pantry for over eleven years.

Trustee Ron Levitsky spoke briefly to the students on the unique American tradition of the Annual Town Meeting, the only gathering of its kind at which residents may vote on issues affecting their community.

Supervisor's Report

Supervisor Feiger presented highlights from her annual report, noting that West Deerfield Township is in an excellent financial position as it serves over 32,000 diverse constituents. Written copies of the Supervisor's report were available at the meeting.

Assessor's Report

Assessor Tom Healy presented his report on the property assessment process during the previous year, written copies of which were available at the meeting. Overall, it was a "smooth year" in the Assessor's office, with appeals down by 30% over 2013. Assessor Healy noted that questions from residents are always welcome in the office or by phone.

Review of 2013-14 Town Budget and Appropriation Ordinance

A motion to dispense with the formal reading of the Budget and Appropriation Ordinance was made by Ron Schwartz and seconded by Marc Brown. A voice vote was taken, and all being in favor, the motion carried. Written copies of the Budget and Appropriation Ordnance and Financial Statements were available at the meeting.

Reading and Action of Resolutions No. 2014-1

Moderator Wiltgen read Resolution No. 2014-1, setting the time and place of the next Annual Town Meeting as the second Tuesday in April, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. at West Deerfield Township Center. Jack Strom moved to accept the Resolution, and was seconded by Tom Healy. A voice vote was taken. All were in favor and the Resolution was adopted.

Comments from Electors

Barbara Cornew, speaking on behalf of Rep. Brad Schneider, thanked the Township for its resident services. Clerk Scott thanked Gail Wiltgen for serving as Moderator for the Town Meeting.

Adjournment

There being no further business to conduct, a motion to adjourn was made by Marc Brown and seconded by Bob Rosenbacher. All were in favor and the motion carried.

The 2014 Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 7:33 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Scott Town Clerk